Pokemon X and Y Review (Spoiler Free)

pokemon_xy_legendaries_wallpaper

Hey everyone today I will be reviewing Pokemon X and Y. Before I get started let me get a few things out of the way. I am in no way a Pokemon expert as this is only the second Pokemon game I have ever played. I also only have the Y version of this game but I will be going over the differences and why I chose Y over X. Another thing to note as you can see in the title this will be a spoiler free review as I have not even come close to beating the game yet but I have about 9 hours of gameplay under my belt. Now let’s get to the review.

The Differences:

yNXtX

Especially the two versions are the same game just with a few differences regarding mega evolutions and legendary Pokemons. Above you can see the two legendary Pokemon. On the left is Yveltal (version Y), a dark/flying type, and on the right we have Xerneas (version X), one of the new fairy types.  Also as a side note if you notice Yveltal is shaped like a Y and Xerneas is shaped like an X, see what they did there? Yveltal is one of, if not THE main reason I bought Y. Don’t get me wrong Xerneas is really cool too but I knew I wouldn’t enjoy the fairy types as much as the other types and after playing the I still don’t fancy the fairy types. Another difference is the mega evolutions of a few Pokemon. Now im not an expert on mega evolutions nor do I want to spoil them for you but I do know that the X version of Charizard is black with blue flames and a Dragon/Fire type.  The Y version is orange with slight changes visually and a Flying/Fire type. Other than that the games are identical. Which one should you buy? Well I will leave that up to you to decide.

The main game:

pokemon-x-and-y-horde-battles

Now that we have the differences out of the way let’s get in to the review and if you should get Pokemon X and Y or not (the answer is yes but keep reading anyway). You start of as a beginner Pokemon trainer in the huge region of Kalos. You have been hand selected by Professor Sycamore and given the task to complete your Pokedex. What is a Pokedex you ask? Its a device that keep track of every Pokemon you come into contact with. There are about 718 Pokemon in total and 68 Pokemon new to X and Y which gives the saying “collect them all” a far greater meaning. Every Pokemon is unique and totally rad looking and I wont even begin to try to describe them but they look great. All the Pokemon have between 2-4 evolutions, not including the mega evolutions, which to me makes it fun to constantly use new Pokemon to see what they can evolve into. There is also the new feature of tons of character customization. You can choose from dozens of hast, pants, bags, and more. This gives earning money from Poke-battles rewardable along with the potions and other things you can buy.

Pokemon-X-and-Y

But what would all these awesome features be without good graphics? Don’t worry about that this game really looks GREAT! Now I play on an XL so I can’t speak for the regular 3DS crowd (theres not much of a difference anyway) but this game is one of the best games I have played on my 3DS graphics wise. Everything from the battle effects to the people and places you will encounter. The bottom screen is used for you inventory, Pokemon, Pokedex, training, and a whole lot more. This game really uses the bottom screen to its advantage more than most other 3DS games I have played. Another thing graphically impressive about this game is the 3D. I almost always play with the 3D on (mind you this will decrease the battery life) because it just looks so much better.

*WARNING*

Lumiose City art

Before I move on to the final recap and score I had to add a very important warning. DO NOT save in Lumiose City especially not near taxis! Hundreds of people have reported a game-breaking bug in which in the instance of you saving in this city your game will freeze and further more corrupts your save file which most likely will never work again. Most of the reports were from people who saved near one of the many taxis in the city. Now some people have claimed saving in the buildings/stores in Lumiose City is ok but I would not chance it. Nintendo are currently working on a patch for this bug.

Final opinions and score:

Riding-Goat-Pokemon-X-and-Y_1920x1200

My final thoughts on the question “should I buy Pokemon X and Y?” the simple answer is yes as I said above. Whether you are a Pokemon veteran or completely new to the series you most likely will enjoy this game. This game is also very fun to play with your friends as well. Up to 4 players can battle each other online. The huge world, hundreds of Pokemon, and fun yet intense stories will make for some of the best adventures you can experience on a handheld. I hope that I helped those of you contemplating buying Pokemon X and Y with some information you can use in your decisions. Below are the final score and a specially poll.

Overall score: 9.5/10 – Awesome

Written by: Spencer

About The Geek Intel

Owner and publisher for The Geek Intel. IT major, geek enthusiast.

Posted on October 19, 2013, in Gaming News and Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. xalbatrosswingx

    I want Yveltal but I want the black Charizard. >_< Oh the agony LOL

Leave a comment